Richmond Park

Ever since Cait and I went and spent our lazy picnicking day in Richmond Park last summer, I have wanted to go back and spend some time traversing it. It is so vast with so much to see and explore.  So one chilly but sunny Saturday I set off.  My mission was to try and get to Kingston Gate and meet a friend but between my phone being a lemon (long story) and me not managing to follow my map app very well, my phone soon died and I was only 10 minutes into what my app told me would be a 55 minute walk.

Having a very good sense of how huge the park is and also noting that even though the map app showed one simple path to follow, in reality, there were many paths to choose from and without the map to assist me there was no way I was going to attempt to find my way.  The sun was already setting and with signs like these up all over the place, quite frankly I was a bit apprehensive.  In these parts one does not need to worry about muggers but more about stray bullets that were meant for deer!

dsc_2890

Here are a few other pictures from my beautiful but short-lived walk in Richmond Park!

Here I think it looks like one could be in the veld, somewhere in the bush in South Africa!
Here I think it looks like one could be in the veld, somewhere in the bush in South Africa!
Lesser Spotted Deer! Actually Fallow deer, but they are hard to spot!
Lesser Spotted Deer! Actually Fallow deer, but they are hard to spot!
Arty Pic!
Arty Pic!

dsc_2880

More African type pics
More African type pics
Nows about the time I was really glad I had turned around!
Now’s about the time I was really glad I had turned around! Don’t be fooled by the look of that sun. It was not warm in the slightest!
Almost home
Almost home
Very nearly home
Very nearly home
Another arty pic - pink chimney smoke caused by the sunset and what looks like a comet but is actually an aeroplane
Another arty pic – pink chimney smoke caused by the sunset and what looks like a comet but is actually an aeroplane
My road, home at last!
My road, home at last!

 

Leave a Reply

