CAIT, TATE & BI-BIM-BAP

Even though Angela had given me the £30 for assembly of the bed (insert that post here) we had all pitched in and gotten the bed assembled in the end, so there was no way I was going to spend that money on myself, by myself. Luckily the chance to spend it on all of us came a few days later. Somehow Cait managed another half day off work (and I was still in tourist mode) so we decided to go do something really touristy that didn’t require us spending too much money.  We wanted to keep the spending of the thirty squid until Reece joined us after work.  We eventually decided on going to the Tate Modern as it was free to take in the artiness of the Tate.

Cait did art at school and loved it so I felt like I was going with someone who knew their stuff and would ‘get’ the art which is something I struggle with at times.  She would be that person who could walk around ooh’ing and aaahing at what I would find difficult to comprehend.  So it was with great relief that Cait had just about the same expression on her face as I did walking around the various exhibitions on offer there.  Consternation, confusion and conundrums are words that spring to mind when I think of that afternoon.

I mean seriously:  what do my readers make of this:

I see poo!
I see poo!

And this:

img_1669

And really this???

img_1678

What does it all mean Basil??

To be honest, because of its absolute assault on my senses and what my brain thought was going to happen in there, I actually found it a really enlightening experience and could have stayed longer, except feet were tired and beer was calling.  I will definitely go again.  It was an exceedingly trippy and entertaining experience!

After that, we concentrated hard on spending the £30 which wasn’t too difficult really.  We found an awesome Korean restaurant called Yori (its in Soho) which was awesome because it was authetic but also because we had a voucher for 2 for the price of 1.  So we managed to eat quite a bit considering we had £30 to spend!

Yori, Soho
Yori, Soho

 

 

 

 

 

BI-BIM-BAP - my absolute fave meal of all time!

BI-BIM-BAP – my absolute fave meal of all time!

Plus we did the whole cook the meat at our table experience!
Plus we did the whole cook the meat at our table experience!

Not only did we go to the Tate Museum and Yori but we also walked around, caught the bus, saw Piccadilly Circus for the first time and were generally amazed by the sights, the sounds and everything going on. It was such a special day and one of the highlights of my experience so far. You know those days when at the end of it, you are truly grateful, happy and satisfied by the turn of events.  It’s sad that we eventually lose that childlike excitement about absolutely EVERYTHING we see.

Me taking photos of buses under my umbrella, maybe there is an artist in me somewhere?
Me taking photos of buses under my umbrella, maybe there is an artist in me somewhere?
Us on a bus - still exciting and excited to be on one! Does it show!!?
Us on a bus – still exciting and excited to be on one! Does it show!!?
1 thought on “CAIT, TATE & BI-BIM-BAP”

Leave a Reply

